Why have a classic car if you can’t show it off? You may want to take it to a car show or drive it in a parade because letting other people admire your car is part of the fun. But can you let other people drive it too? If there is someone you really trust, you may want to give them the chance to experience the pleasure of operating your vehicle.
If you live in or around the Dorchester, MA area, you can talk to the representatives at Vargas & Vargas Insurance about what your policy can cover. Protecting your investment is important and knowing what is allowed and not allowed is key when cruising in your classic.
You Can Allow Other Drivers to Operate Your Vehicle
As long as there are no restrictions stated in your contract, you should be able to allow other people to drive your classic car. Your current coverage should protect your guest from any mishaps they may have while driving your vehicle. There are certain restrictions but, as long as the state laws are followed, there should be no foreseeable issues.
The individual must be of age to drive and must have a valid license, with no suspensions or restrictions. Failure to ensure that the driver is eligible to drive can cause you problems if anything happens while the other person is behind the wheel.
A big part of the American automobile experience is independence. Classic cars let you show off your unique style and do things your own way. If you drive a classic car in Dorchester, MA and want to make sure you are getting maximum protection, call Vargas & Vargas Insurance for more information today.
At Vargas and Vargas Insurance Agency, we love seeing classic cars on the road. It takes us back to a simpler time. Did you know that classic cars can have special license plates in the state of Massachusetts? Here are the two specialty plates that you can request for your antique vehicle:
Antique Plates – These plates may only be used for vehicles that are over 25 years old. In addition, the vehicle must be used only for exhibitions, car club events, and similar activities. The total cost of this plate is $50 annually – this will increase to $80 annually if your antique plate is personalized.
Year of Manufacture (YOM) Plates – To keep your car as original as possible, the state of Massachusetts will allow you to use license plates from the vehicle’s year of manufacture. The vehicle must be over 25 years old, and must have passed a state inspection. In addition, you will be required to acquire authentic Massachusetts license plated issued in the model year of your vehicle. The plates must be in good condition, and may be no more than six characters. The fee for using Year of Manufacture Plates is $50 annually.
If you’re interested in finding out more on how to get a specialty plate for your classic car, see the Applying for Specialty License Plates page on dmv.org.
We want to make sure the classic cars in the Greater Boston area are properly looked after, and protected. That’s why we offer top-notch classic car insurance for our clients. For a free insurance quote on a policy that will protect your classic car, just call 617-298-0655 and speak to a Vargas and Vargas Insurance agent.